One of the fundamental ways to secure the future of our great country Nigeria is to engage in the educational development of our children, motivate and equip them for the challenges of becoming useful to themselves and the society.

LAPO Microfinance Bank recognizes education as a potent weapon against poverty and has over the years contributed to the academic development of the younger generation through its Scholarship and Quiz Competition Initiatives. The bank has awarded merit-based scholarships to over 5,650 needy secondary and university students in Nigeria till date, as well as donated books and learning materials to various schools.

Since 2006, LAPO Microfinance Bank has been sponsoring quiz competitions among secondary school students in Edo and decided to extend it to Delta state in the year, 2015. The organization considers the academic competition a development process and encouragement of excellence amongst students who are the future leaders of this great nation. It has no doubt advanced students’ understanding of science subjects and current affairs as well as provided a veritable platform for teachers and students to exchange ideas and learning experiences.

The programme is indeed a long-lasting initiative to promote intellectual development amongst students. The annual competition begins at the senatorial zones and climaxes at the state level where the overall best three winners and their schools are rewarded with valuable gifts and the prestigious LAPO trophy. The quality of the competition and students’ performance has witnessed remarkable improvement over the years. This is a great justification for the resources invested in the quiz competition.




Overall Winner

1st Runner

2nd Runner


Ihogbe College, Benin City

Idia College, Benin City

Blessed St. Paul, Auchi


Golden Kingdom Academy, Auchi

Springfield High School, Benin City

Oregbeni Estate Secondary School, Benin City


Al-muktar secondary school, Auchi

Oregbeni Secondary School,Benin City

Presentation National High School, Benin City


Early breed secondary school,Auchi

Bishop Oyebode Memorial College, Auchi

Institute of Continuing Education ICE, Auchi


Mount Carmel secondary school, Auchi

Presentation National High School

Demonstration Secondary School, Benin City


University Preparatory Secondary Sch, Benin

Hikman Secondary School, Auchi

Federal Science and Technical College, Uromi


University Preparatory Secondary Sch, Benin

Green Park Academy, Benin City

Annunciation Catholic College, Irrua


Glory land Group of Schools, Auchi

Springfield High School, Benin City

Gaius Obaseki Secondary School, Benin city


Glory land Group of Schools, Auchi

University of Benin Teaching Hospital Staff School, Benin City

Federal Science and Technical College, Uromi.

2015 Lumen Christi Secondary School, Uromi University Preparatory Secondary Sch, Benin Federal Science and Technical College, Uromi